KXIP vs KKR Live Score

Even if Hillary Clinton wins Washington state, two Democratic electors may not be giving their vote to the former secretary of state.

Robert Satiacum, a member of Washington's Puyallup Tribe, supported Bernie Sanders in the Democratic primary. On Election Day, the popular vote in an electoral region is tallied, and the corresponding party Electors will cast their votes as representatives of the popular vote. "She will not get my vote, period".

It would be a rare revolt. For example if a person votes for Democratic Party he automatically votes for Hillary Clinton and vice versa.

A series of things have fall in flawless order for the Electoral College to fail because a candidate does not get a majority of the 538 electoral votes. The candidate that receives the majority of votes at the polls in that state receives that state's Electoral College votes. Although Andrew Jackson had won the most electoral votes, the House of Representatives awarded the presidency to John Quincy Adams.

If no candidate receives the majority of electoral votes, the election is decided in the House of Representatives.

In 1787 the Electoral College was established.

Some of the better known electors in 2016 include Bill Clinton, Gov. Andrew Cuomo, New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio and Eric Schneiderman, the New York attorney general who's been investigating the activities of Donald Trump's foundation. Instead, the outcome of the vote in each state determines a slate of electors, who then make the actual choice of president and vice president.

The number of electors in each state is equal to the number of Congress members to which the state is entitled, while the Constitution grants the District of Columbia the same number of electors as the least populous state (Wyoming), now three.

What's particularly unsettling about faithless electors is that there is nothing to force them to declare their intentions in advance. If all goes smoothly, the American people will choose a new president on Tuesday, the Electoral College will affirm the election and either Democrat Hillary Clinton or Republican Donald Trump will take the oath of office January 20.

Swing states are states that have historically maintained equal support for the candidates of both parties, so they are viewed as crucial in deciding the outcome of an election. A presidential candidate needs 270 electoral votes to win, but if the two men break their pledge it would mean Clinton needs to secure 2 extra electoral votes to reach 270. Compare that to, say, Arkansas, which gets six electoral votes because it has four representatives and two senators.

Where did the Electoral College system come from? The number of electoral votes a state gets depends on the amount of seats it has in congress. That's the case in the popular vote, but not the Electoral College.

When you vote for president, you are really deciding which electors, men and women are pledged to a particular candidate, will be voting.

Republicans can rely on "red states" including Texas, Wyoming and Alabama, while "blue states" such New York, California and IL consistently deliver votes to the Democrats, freeing both parties to focus on more crucial swing states.

No, they're not. There's no Constitutional provision or federal law that requires electors to vote for whom they are pledged.

The popular vote and the Electoral College rarely conflict with each other, yet in moments of uncertainty the conclusive decision of the electoral vote is prioritized over the people's vote. There hasn't been an electoral tie in more than 150 years.

ME and Nebraska are the only two states that follow the congressional district method: They award two electoral votes to the candidate who wins the popular vote and then candidates receive another vote for each congressional district they win.

On Nov. 8, the American people will vote for the next president, but because of some weirdness in our political process, the possibility exists of not knowing who will be president until well after that. Each state gets one vote so 26 states are needed to win.