KXIP vs KKR Live Score

It was a landslide victory for Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Uttar Pradesh-they did it in 2014 general assembly elections and repeated the thunderous wave in 2017 by winning a whopping 312 seats in the 403-seat state.

After a meeting with local BJP legislators on Saturday, senior party leader M. Venkaiah Naidu announced 44-year-old Yogi Adityanath as Uttar Pradesh's next chief minister. Maurya was elected from the Phulpur constituency, while Sharma is the vice president of BJP and, also in-charge of Gujarat. In 2002, he founded the Hindu Yuva Vahini.

Alleging that Adityanath had "spearheaded" a series of communal riots in 2007, Vijayan recalled that the saffron leader "had gone to the extreme of comparing (Bollywood actor) Shah Rukh Khan with Hafiz Saeed (Pakistani terrorist)".

Observers questioned whether Adityanath would continue pushing his "Hindutva", loosely translated as "Hinduness", ideology as chief minister. The hands of such leaders appeared to have been forced by him.

The oath as Ministers of State (MoS) was taken by Mannu Kori, Sandeep Singh, Suresh Pasi, Neelkanth Tiwari, Girish Chandra Yadav, Baldev Aulakh, Jai Kumar Singh Jacky, Atul Garg, Ranvendra Pratap Singh, Gulab Devi, Jai Prakash Nishad and Archana Pandey.

Accusing the previous governments of being responsible for the sorry state of affairs in the state, Adityanath said work will be done to make development agriculture-based as it is main source of income.

The people of Uttar Pradesh will now be under a chief minister whose obnoxious statements from the past are reasons enough for anybody sensible to fear the road ahead for Uttar Pradesh. "I am confident that the state will march on the path of development", he had said in his first brief media interaction at the Raj Bhawan. He has also never contested an election in Uttar Pradesh. Several BJP chief ministers also attended the function.