KXIP vs KKR Live Score

The hurricane center said Tuesday Jose had 40 miles per hour winds, and was moving west-northwest at 13 miles per hour.

The National Hurricane Center said Hurricane Jose continues to strengthen in the Atlantic Ocean on Thursday.

Hurricane Irma may be getting most of the headlines right now, but it's sharing the Atlantic with Hurricane Jose and newly formed Hurricane Katia, too.

Katia's maximum sustained winds are 75mph (120 km/h), compared with Irma's 185 miles per hour (295 km/h), which makes the latter one of the strongest Atlantic hurricanes in history.

Hurricane Katia is not expected to affect Southwest Florida.

At 10 a.m. CDT (11 a.m. EDT/1500 UTC) the center of Hurricane Katia was located near 21.6 degrees north latitude and 94.6 degrees west longitude.

Jose was upgraded to a hurricane in the Atlantic, far east of Hurricane Irma which is now on its way to Florida.

Two tropical storms have been upgraded to hurricanes.

As of the midday Wednesday advisory, Tropical Storm Jose has sustained winds of 70 miles per hour. The storm strengthened to a hurricane by Wednesday evening.

There are now three hurricanes in the Atlantic. Jose's preliminary forecast track has it moving north of Irma's path, in the direction of North Carolina.

"Barbuda is literally rubble", Prime Minister Gaston Browne of Antigua and Barbuda told ABS TV/Radio Antigua.

So while Houston will be spared from another storm, eastern Mexico is at risk of localised flooding and potential mudslides. In an unlikely coincidence, these storms are nearly in the same order and position as Irma, Jose and Katia, and have the same first three letters (I, J, K). The western quadrant of the storm was over the east coast state of Veracruz, Mexico.

The hurricane earlier Wednesday battered a string of northern Caribbean island nations, situated east of the more populous Virgin Islands group and Puerto Rico.


COMMENTS