KXIP vs KKR Live Score

The Australian skipper will miss the three-match series, which starts early Sunday morning (AEDT) in Ranchi, after landing awkwardly on his right shoulder while fielding in last Sunday's final one-dayer.

Australia's record in T20 cricket is not good.

Skipper Virat Kohli won the coin toss and made a decision to field first against Australia in the first of the three-match T20I series. Travis Head and Moises Henriques are in the middle as David Warner, Glenn Maxwell and Aaron Finch are back in the pavilion after India elected to field in Ranchi. "The beginning is important, and one window here and there and Australia might pounce", he added.

Even a change of format hasn't been able to stop Australia's batting collapses, with India easily chasing down a reduced target in the rain-curtailed first T20 worldwide. Finch scored 250 runs in three innings while Warner made 245 runs from five outings in the just-concluded ODI series.

Paceman Jason Behrendorff is likely to make his long-awaited worldwide debut, while Andrew Tye, after replacing Pat Cummins (rested), is among four quicks in the squad. Bumrah bowled a full pace yorker as Nathan Coulter-Nile was been cleaned up.

Australia could be without captain Steve Smith for the opening Twenty20 meeting with India on Saturday due to injury. Meanwhile, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel will take care of spin-bowling department.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli (22 off 14) and opener Shikhar Dhawan (15 off 12) did the rest, cruising to 1-49 after smashing three boundaries each.

There's no break for Virat Kohli or Rohit Sharma, and even MS Dhoni will continue to wicket-keep, even though they have brought in Dinesh Karthik as a stand-in keeper.

Australia were without their regular captain Steven Smith, who had to fly back home after injuring his shoulder.

Uncapped left-arm speedster Jason Behrendorff, along with wicketkeeper-batsman Tim Paine, all-rounders Moises Henriques and Dan Christian are the new additions in Australia's T20I squad.