KXIP vs KKR Live Score

Mukul Roy, who defected to BJP from the state ruling party past year, had already resigned from the upper house of Parliament.

Of these 10, four are now held by the NCP, one by the Congress, two by the BJP, and one each by the Shiv Sena, the Lok Bharati.

The BJP has released their list of 18 Rajya Sabha candidates including V Muraleedharan.

All the candidates are nearly certain to win due to party's strength in respective state assemblies.

In the Assembly, the PWP and the Bahujan Vikas Agadhi (BVA) have three MLAs each, the AIMIM has two, and the MNS, the Samajwadi Party, the Bharipa Bahujan Mahasangh, the CPM and the Rashtriya Samaj Paksh (RSP) have one each, while there are seven Independents. March 14 is the last date to submit the final list of candidates.

Out of the six states from which BJP candidates for the Upper House polls have been announced, five of them are now ruled by the saffron party.

Other party candidates are Kirodi Lal Meena and Madan Lal Saini from Rajasthan, Ajay Pratap Singh and Kailash Soni from Madhya Pradesh, entrepreneur Rajeev Chandrasekhar from Karnataka, Sameer Uranv from Jharkhand and Lt. Gen. (retd) D P Vats from Haryana. The BJP wants to nurture its own leadership in the Rajbhar community.

The BSP is counting heavily on the "surplus" votes of the SP, besides support from the Congress and the RLD for the victory of its lone candidate in the Rajya Sabha biennial elections from Uttar Pradesh. Ten Rajya Sabha members from Uttar Pradesh will be elected on March 23. An alliance for Rajya Sabha polls is likely to be favourable to mount a challenge to the NDA in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

A former BSP MLA, Ambedkar filed his nomination papers for the Rajya Sabha polls on March 7.