KXIP vs KKR Live Score

"As a reminder, you can report spam or block a contact in one tap and can always reach out to WhatsApp directly for help". "And if the answer is yes, think twice before sharing it again", reads the tip.

In a blog post sent to Poynter, WhatsApp announced a new label that will indicate when a message has been forwarded to someone from another user.

The company's reply came after the respective ministry issued a warning to WhatsApp in the wake of killings taking place across the country due to rumours that circulate via the platform.

WhatsApp said it was "horrified" by the violence and promised swift action but Indian authorities have accused the social media giant of acting irresponsibly in its largest market. It started with the publication of several full-page advertisements in English, Hindi and regional languages in newspapers across the country - a strategy that borrows from Facebook's own public relations playbook.

Election related information is a core area that WhatsApp is looking at, along with questions on processing problematic events, virality, and digital literacy.

WhatsApp new suspicious link feature will automatically check the authenticity of the website links being shared. "Just because a message is shared many times, does not make it true".

"We launched a new setting that enables administrators to decide who gets to send messages within individual groups".

All these companies are fighting an uphill battle to stop the spread of false information, and it's still too early to say what impact - if any - their efforts are having on the fake news frenzy.

More than 25 people have been killed in India in recent months after rumours were spread on smartphones about child kidnappers, thieves and sexual predators.

WhatsApp, with over 200 million users in India, has been under huge pressure to act after a spate of rumours spread through the messaging platform led to multiple killings in India over the last few years.

In addition, Instagram is also testing a "Do Not Disturb" feature that lets users shut off notifications from Instagram and WhatsApp for 30 minutes, one hour, two hours, eight hours, one day or until they're turned back on manually.


COMMENTS